Perform a clean install of Zend Server for IBM i

Follow

Issue

On rare occasions, it may be helpful to completely uninstall Zend Server and reinstall a fresh copy of the software.  One example would be when the Licensed Program is displaying a status of *ERROR.  This is referred to as a clean install.  This article provides some notes and tips to perform the clean install.

Environment

Zend Server for IBM i version 6 or higher, running on any supported version of IBM i.

Resolution

A clean install simply involves uninstalling the software, installing a new copy, and adjusting the settings back to what they are currently. Fortunately the settings are saved when the software is uninstalled, so it is not difficult to reinstate the old settings.  However, this does not include data bases, so things like deployed applications, monitor rules, recurring jobs, and so forth will need to be reentered manually.  Please take note of these items before beginning, so they can be reentered after the new installation is complete.

To begin, you need to uninstall Zend Server for IBM i. This article tells how:

Uninstall Zend Server for IBM i

You will then need to install the same version of Zend Server:

Download and install Zend Server for IBM i

After installing, before updating any settings, go into the Zend Server UI and enter your license. Also, verify that the Zend Server UI appears to be functioning normally.

Your settings can be found in directories named with the format zendsvr6TIMESTAMP, where TIMESTAMP is a numeric timestamp representing the date and time the backup was made. Please make the appropriate substitution for TIMESTAMP in the following instructions.

The old PHP settings will be saved in this file:

/usr/local/zendsvr6TIMESTAMP/etc/php.ini

and in the files in this directory:

/usr/local/zendsvr6TIMESTAMP/etc/conf.d

You can copy these files over the files in the newly installed directories, and restart Zend Server for the changes to take effect. After restarting, notice that in the Zend Server UI there will be warnings that state the expected settings do not match the actual settings. In the UI, change each setting from the expected setting to the actual setting, to match the settings just copied over from the old installation. The setting in the UI will match the actual setting, so you need to change it to the expected setting, change it back to the actual setting, and then click 'Save' to reset the expected setting in the database. Do this for each setting that has a warning, to clear all the messages. Note that the UI shows an interpreted value instead of the raw value shown in the message, so for example, where the message shows a zero or one, the UI might show off or on.

Settings for FastCGI and Apache are saved in these files:

/www/zendsvr6TIMESTAMP/conf/fastcgi.conf

/www/zendsvr6TIMESTAMP/conf/httpd.conf

You can replace these files in the new installation from the saved copies.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk