Resetting the Workspace and Migrating Projects in Zend Studio for Eclipse

Follow

Applies To:

[ Zend Studio for Eclipse 6.x, Zend Studio 7.x, Zend Studio 8.x ]
[ All operating systems ]

Symptom

  1. When upgrading to a newer version of Zend Studio for Eclipse without resetting the workspace, you might have issues - from missing configurations, up to not using the bug fixes and features introduced in the newer version. In the worst case Zend Studio may fail to start.
  2. Workspace corruption may occur due to unclean shutdown of Zend Studio for Eclipse or due to problems in the software.

Technical Details

Changes in the Workspace, GUI elements, Plugins and Features may fail to migrate automatically between different versions of Zend Studio. Conflicting settings or broken settings may have all kinds of side-effects.

Resolution / Workaround

Creating a New Workspace

In case Zend Studio does not start, you need to move/delete the old workspace:

  1. Find the workspace directory. The default location is:
    • Zend Studio for Eclipse 6.x in GNU/Linux and MacOS X - ~/Zend/workspaces/DefaultWorkspace
    • Zend Studio for Eclipse 6.x in MS Windows - %USERPROFILE%\Zend\workspaces\DefaultWorkspace
    • Zend Studio 7.x and Zend Studio 8.x in GNU/Linux and MacOS X - ~/Zend/workspaces/DefaultWorkspace7
    • Zend Studio 7.x and Zend Studio 8.x in MS Windows - %USERPROFILE%\Zend\workspaces\DefaultWorkspace7
  2. Rename this directory. For example: rename 'DefaultWorkspace' to 'DefaultWorkspace_Backup'.
  3. Start Zend Studio. On startup the software will recreate the workspace directory and populate it with default settings.

If Zend Studio is able to start, it is recommended to create the new workspace from within Zend Studio:

  1. Open Zend Studio for Eclipse.
  2. Go to File | Switch Workspace | Other.
  3. Enter the path for new workspace in the Workspace Launcher dialog and click OK.
  4. Zend Studio will restart and create a new workspace in the directory you specified (the directory itself will be created too, if it does not exist).

Importing Projects into the New Workspace

The new workspace will start empty. You will have to import your projects into it:

  1. Go to menu File | Import.
  2. In the Import wizard, choose General | Existing Projects into Workspace on the Select page and click Next.
  3. Specify the current location of your projects on the Import Projects page and select the projects you want to import.
Note:
If you want to copy the projects into the new workspace, please check the Copy projects into workspace checkbox. Otherwise the projects will remain in their original location.
  1. Click Finish. The import process will start and may take much time, depending on projects' size and complexity.

Excerpt: This article provides several ways of changing Zend Studio workspace and migrating existing projects into the new workspace.


Original Post Date: 2011-03-30 21:27:49

Alternative Description:

This article describes the methods of resetting the workspace in Zend Studio for Eclipse (restoring the default configuration). It also contains basic instructions for importing the existing projects into the new workspace.

_____
Tags: Apple OS X 10.7 (Lion),Apple OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion),Apple OS X 10.9 (Mavericks),Debian / Ubuntu,import project,MacOS 10.6 and earlier,MS Windows 2003 Server,MS Windows 2008 Server,MS Windows 2012 Server,MS Windows 7,MS Windows 8,MS Windows XP,RedHat Enterprise Linux / CentOS,reset workspace,SUSE Linux Enterprise Server / OpenSUSE,upgrade,workspace,workspace corruption,Zend Studio,Zend Studio 10.x,Zend Studio 11.x,Zend Studio 7.x,Zend Studio 8.x,Zend Studio 9.x,Zend Studio for Eclipse 6.x,oldKB

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk