Preferences Are Not Being Saved in Zend Studio

Follow

Applies To:

[ Zend Studio 5.x ]
[ MacOS, Linux ]

Symptom

Preference settings do not persist between ZDE sessions. After you change preferences in ZDE and restart the application, the settings are lost.

Technical Details

This problem typically occurs due to incorrect permissions on the 'ZDE' directory, or a pre-existing ZDE file/directory in the user's home directory.

Resolution / Workaround

Locate the ZDE directory within your home directory, and make sure that your user has read, write, and execute permissions to this directory and to all of its sub-directories and files. To do this:

  1. Open a terminal window.
  2. Verify that the the ZDE directory exists: ls -l ~/ZDE
  3. Add read, write and execute permissions to the ZDE directory: chmod u+rwx -R ~/ZDE

If you still have permissions problems, rename the settings directory. To do this:

  1. Exit Zend Studio and make sure it is not running.
  2. Rename the settings directory: mv ~/ZDE/config_5.5{,_bak}
  3. Start Zend Studio.

Excerpt: After you change preferences in ZDE and restart the application, the settings are lost. This article explains how to change the permissions of the configuration directory to make it writable.


Original Post Date: 2009-06-03 20:30:06

Alternative Description:

After you change preferences in ZDE and restart the application, the settings are lost. This article explains how to change the permissions of the configuration directory to make it writable.

_____
Tags: Apple OS X 10.7 (Lion),Apple OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion),Apple OS X 10.9 (Mavericks),config_5.5,Debian / Ubuntu,MacOS 10.6 and earlier,permissions,preferences,RedHat Enterprise Linux / CentOS,settings,SUSE Linux Enterprise Server / OpenSUSE,ZDE 5.x and older,oldKB

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk